Halo 5: Guardians … A Great Big Disappointment

I cranked through the extremely short campaign, and although I didn’t hate it, I would have to agree with every criticism in this review.

‘Halo 5: Guardians’ Review: Not Worthy of the Mantle

My overall impression is that 343 wanted to make a Call of Duty clone, which was never what any Halo version was before.

The most unfortunate thing is that almost everyone on my friends list has already pretty much entirely given up on Halo 5 multi-player. With less and less friends playing, I also play much less Halo 5 multi-player.
In fact,

I hate to say it, but by two weeks later I’ve entirely moved on to Fallout 4, went back to Warframe (great game BTW), and I am looking forward to Rise of the Tomb Raider. I actually regret that I bought the Halo 5 bundle, as the bundle “extras” were mostly just a waste of the extra money.

Will 343 be doing a Bungie Destiny, releasing the rest of the campaign as DLC in thirty dollar increments? If that’s the plan I’m giving up on the Halo franchise. Can’t encourage corporate bean counters that that is a good way to extract more profit from the same investment.

My advice, Wait for Halo 5 to come out as a Deal with Gold and only buy it at a discount. There is nothing there that you can’t wait to play.

About WarFrame …

Digital Extremes has released a couple of major Warframe rebuilds this year. At this point I would say that Warframe game-play and graphics compare well to both Destiny and Halo 5. (on my PC and XBone at least – no idea with the Sony PS)

Warframe pvp still needs a lot of work, but I generally don’t bother with pvp these days. Too many cheaters and girly voiced boys screaming insults and abuse to everyone they game with.

Best part: it won’t cost you a penny to give it a whirl. 🙂

If you like it, you can grind out for upgrades, or spend some Bing points for XBLive gift cards and customize your frame on the quick. (still cost free on the XBone that way)

Melee fighting in Warframe is actually superior to either Destiny or Halo 5. They improved avatar movement (running, jumping, wall running, double jump, etc.) The customizations available in Warframe (in-game loot or buy) are extensive and engaging for most any aspect of your game including guns, melee weapons, your suit, ship, you name it. Not a bad game at all.

But then again if you still don’t like it – it was basically free so no loss of anything but play-time and download bandwidth!

